Waltja Tjutangku Palyapayi

'Doing Good Work with Families'

Winners of two awards at the Keep Australia Beautiful National Tidy Town Awards Ceremony 2018

Aputula/ Finke Community represented the Northern Territory as the finalist in the National competition. The categories in which they won awards for were the ‘Community Action and Wellbeing’ category and the ‘Heritage and Culture’ category.

They were also highly commended in the Dame Phyllis Frost Litter prevention, Waste Management and Resource Recovery category. Finke was also under consideration for the main prize along with two other towns. But in the end Smithton in North- West Tasmania was announced as the National Tidy Town Winner for 2018.

The Awards ceremony was held in Barmera on the Murray River in South Australia. Three Community members from Finke went to the Awards Ceremony, they were Rosemary Matasia, Leigh Iselin- Blumberg and Kenneth Hayes to accept the awards on behalf of the whole community.

(Photo Left to Right: Jeff MacLeod, Leigh Iselin- Blumberg, Rosemary Matasia and Kenneth Hayes)