All Waltja Directors must be Aboriginal women, and appointed from remote communities where Waltja works.  They must be a permanent resident (living in the community for at least 5 years), have made a big contribution to the community and be recognised for their leadership, either paid or voluntary in the community.

At the Annual General Meeting, Waltja members elect Directors. Directors then vote on the office bearer positions. The office bearers are Chairperson, Public officer and three Executive members. These, with the CEO, make up Waltja’s Executive management team.


Chairperson April Martin

Public Officer Isobel Gorey

Executive Member Irene Nangala

Executive Member Rachel Tilmouth

Executive Member Enid Gallagher